About us / ClubDNA™ / History / Zoroastrian / Mehrdad™ / News / Blog / MyDNA™ / ChatMusic / 4U! / Shopping / Travel / Downloads / Services / Links / Contact us








- 101 NAMES





Zoroastrianism recognizes various classes of spiritual beings besides the Supreme Being (Ahura Mazda):

In practice, Zoroastrians pick a patron angel for their protection and throughout their lives are careful to observe prayers dedicated to that angel.





Spenta Mainyu (Spenamino, Hormazd) means "The Holy Creative Spirit", He is the spirit of Ahura Mazda, active in the world. He has dominion over humans. He is the god of life and personified light and goodness in the world and people. Later, he became identified with Ormazd, while Ahura Mazda (Name synonymous with Ormazd) became known as Zurvan.

~Human Beings~





Each Amesha Spenta (Amahraspand) personifies an attribute of Ahura Mazda as well as a human virtue. In early Zoroastrianism they are spirits of light and may be considered divine aspects of Ahura Mazda. Later they became fully personified as independent deities.


Male Amesha Spentas presided over masculine elements: Fire, Metals and Animals

Female Amesha Spentas presided over feminine elements: Earth, Water and Vegetation



Still, they were never worshipped individually. Each Amesha Spentas had a special character and was assigned respective creations to preside over on the physical, moral and spiritual planes of Ahura Mazda's creations to aid in the triumph of the forces of light over darkness.


Each had an eternal archenemy in the Daevas (Demons) headed by Ahriman. Each Amesha Spenta also symbolizes a sector of Ahura Mazda's Creation. Each also has a month named after them in the Zoroastrian calendar.



Vohu Manah (Vohu Mano, Vohuman)

Vohu Manah is the "Good Mind, Intelligence and Good Thinking", It stands for the discerning wisdom and thorough thinking required for leading a useful life. It is the generator of Good Thoughts, Good Words and Good Deeds. He is given the freedom to choose between good and evil, and the responsibility to reap the consequences. He is the Intellectual Principle and was the first Amesha Spenta created by Ahura Mazda, at whose right hand he sits.


Asha Vahishta (Ardwahisht)

Asha Vahishta means "Truth and Justice", It is the Divine Law-it embodies Righteousness, Truth, order, Justice and Progress. It is the universal law of righteous precision. Every Zoroastrian strives to follow the Path of Asha in its highest and deepest spiritual sense. Asha is the personification of the "most righteous truth". He was the second Amesha Spenta created. He is the most prominent of the male Amesha Spentas as the principal adversary of the world against the Daevas.


Khshathra Vairya (Shahrewar)

Khshathra Vairya means "Righteous Power" Denotes the "Power" to settle in peace. It is chosen by free and wise people as their ideal order in spirit and matter. It is the divine dominion. It is democracy in mind and body, in thought, words and deeds in every social activity. He symbolizes self-control to include one's desires and sensory organs from being stimulated by objects of sense as well as good authority which ushers in prosperity and the Kingdom of God.

~The Sky and Metals~

Spenta Armaiti (Spandarmad)

Spenta Armaiti means "Holy Serenity, Devotion" also means Tranquility, Holy Compliance. It is peace and prosperity. She is an earth and fertility goddess and daughter of Ahura Mazda. She was the fourth Amesha Spenta created. She personifies holy devotion and righteous obedience, and also perfect mindedness gained through humility, faith, devotion, piety, and so on.

~The Earth~

Haurvatat (Hordad)

Haurvatat means "Wholeness, Integrity, Health and completion". It is the perfecting process and final completion of our material and spiritual evolution. She is the Amesha Spenta that presides over water and is the personification of perfection. She guards the spiritual and physical natures of water, and she brings prosperity and health.


Ameretat (Amurdad)

Ameretat means "Deathlessness and Immortally". Together with Haurvatat, it is the ultimate goal and represents the completion of our evolutionary development and the final achievement of our life on earth. She is associated with plants. She personifies immortality and rules the physical and spiritual aspects of eternal life as are symbolized in plants.






Also known as Arda Fravash ("Holy Guardian Angels"). Each person is accompanied by a guardian angel, which acts as a guide throughout life. They originally patrolled the boundaries of the ramparts of heaven, but volunteer to descend to earth to stand by individuals to the end of their days.


Ahura Mazda advises Zarathushtra to invoke them for help whenever he finds himself in danger. If not for their guardianship, animals and people could not have continued to exist, because the wicked Druj would have destroyed them all.

The Fravashi also serves as an ideal which the soul has to strive for and emulate, and ultimately becomes one with after death. They manifest the energy of God, and preserve order in the creation. They are said to fly like winged birds, and are represented by a winged disk, often with a person superimposed.





Means "Adorable ones", a created spiritual being, worthy of being honored or praised. Like the Amesha Spentas they personify abstract ideas and virtues, or concrete objects of nature. The Yazatas are ever trying to help people and protect us from evil. See below for some specifics of the more important Yazatas.

  1. Aban (Avan, Ava)
  2. Ahurani
  3. Airyaman
  4. Akhshti
  5. Anaghra Raocha (Anagran, Aneran)
  6. Apam Napat
  7. Aredvi Sura Anahita
  8. Arshtat (Ashtad)
  9. Ashi Vanghuhi (Ashishwangh, Ard)
  10. Asman
  11. Atar (Adar, Atash, Atesh, Adur)
  12. Chisti (Chista)
  13. Daena (Den, Din)
  14. Dahm
  15. Dahma Afriti (Dahman Afrin)
  16. Damoish Upamana
  17. Drvaspa
  18. Erethe
  19. Gaw
  20. Geush Urvan (Gosh, Goshorun)
  21. Haoma (Hom)
  22. Haptoiringa
  23. Havani (Hawan, havan)
  24. Hvare-khshaeta (Khwarshed)
  25. Khwarenah (khwarrah, farrah)
  26. Maonghah (Mah)
  27. Manthra Spenta (Mahraspand)
  28. Mithra (Mehr, Mihr, Meher)
  29. Nairyosangha (Neryosang)
  30. Paoiryaenis
  31. Parendi
  32. Paurwanya
  33. Raman (Ram)
  34. Rapithwin
  35. Rasanstat
  36. Rashnu, Rashne (Rashn)
  37. Rata
  38. Satavaesa, Sataves
  39. Sraosha (Sarosh, Srosh)
  40. Tishtyra
  41. Tishtryaeninis (Tishtar, Tir)
  42. Upa-Paoiri
  43. Ushah "Dawn"
  44. Ushahin
  45. Uzerin
  46. Vata (Gowad)
  47. Vanant, Vananta, Vanand
  48. Vayu (Wad, Gowad, Govad)
  49. Verethraghna (Warharan)
  50. Visya
  51. Zamyat, Zamyad (Zam)
  52. Zantuma


Other spiritual beings, not classified with the above:

  • Thwasha: Personification of "Infinite Space"

  • Zrvan Akarana: Personification of "Boundless Time"








© Copyright 1998-2007  PersianDNA  All Rights Reserved.